Being a Student Again

The learning never stops, people have told me. Yet I wonder why people don’t want to stop learning. The brain is truly a beautiful thing. It can hold (as quoted below) information amounting to 10 billion Encyclopedia pages. A typical adult brain contains 15 billion to 200 billion neurons. According to neurologist R. Restak, “the brain is capable of remembering 2 to the 10th billion power bits of information. If you’d like to see this number for yourself to see how large it is, grab a piece of paper and write a zero for every second for 90 years.

But if you look at it in the simple sense, the brain even though it may seem mighty, has been fooled easily into making wrong decisions. Have you processed a thought in your head and then chucked it out because your heart felt something else? Well, the next time, listen to what your head says because more often than not, the brain is telling the mind to do the right thing but the feelings attached with the heart say something different.

As human beings, we are prone to take risks in life. Most of which is controlled by our hearts but our brains do all the calculations. It measures exactly what we need to do and how to do it. Unfortunately, in this case, I’m unable to provide a personal example or an anecdote which I normally would do to illustrate or drive through my point better. However, I would like to show you’ll a video by Alien Heston which I think may be helpful in proving my point.

Cheers!

P.S – For those of you who were thinking that this was going to be a serious article, know that I`m just a student who was a bit bugged with the day`s classes =)

About Sheldon Coelho

I'm a student by day and a writer by night. I enjoy variety and it's reflected in my writing as well. If you want to have a good, simple read; look no further. Below you have two blogs like the two sides of a coin. The first is a view of life through my eyes. The second is a travel blog where you will see the wandering side of me through my various travels. The last blog which has been recently created is a Photoblog and it is here that I share some of the photos that I've captured over the years. Welcome to my world!

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The video was funny. The brain thinks quite logically all the time which may not be appropriate in a few scenarios. Those are the times when we start listening in to our hearts 🙂

What do you think about this?

